Skip navigation

Lang Leads MTU Men at Fifth; Owen Paces Women at Sixth in CCSA Points List

Thu, Feb  1, 2007 - By Jon Oman, MTU

HOUGHTON, Mich. -- The Michigan Tech Nordic skiing team has 20 racers, including 13 men and seven women, on this week's Central Collegiate Ski Association (CCSA) CFIS Points List.

Highlighting the list of Huskies to earn points is Jesse Lang (St. Louis Park, Minn.), who ranks fifth. Four other skiers on the men's side are among the top 20 -- Adam Airoldi (Everson, Wash. -- 8), Kevin Heglund (Andover, Minn./Anoka -- 10), Chris Harvey (Eden Prairie, Minn. -- 14) and Aaron Ditty (Brooklyn Park, Minn./Park Center -- 16). Currently, Lang, Airoldi and Heglund are slated to qualify for the NCAA Championships in March.

For the women, Kristina Owen (East Wenatchee, Wash./Eastmont) holds the sixth spot, while Elizabeth Quinley (Anchorage, Alaska/East -- 13) and Jenna Klein (Ely, Minn. -- 17) are also in the top 20 at this point in the season. Owen and Quinley are among the 10 women eligible for the NCAAs from the CCSA at this time.

A total of 12 other Huskies received points and are listed below.

"I am happy that we are in position to send five skiers to the NCAAs right now," said head coach Joe Haggenmiller. "We are still hoping Jenna [Klein] can earth a berth and she still has time to make that happen."

For access to the complete CCSA CFIS Points List log on to

Tech is off this weekend and its next competition will be at the Wildcat Open, hosted by Northern Michigan Feb. 10. The Al Quaal Recreation Area will serve as the venue for the races.

Notes: As a way of thanking the volunteers that helped make the 2007 U.S. National Cross Country Ski Championships such a resounding success, the MTU Nordic skiing team will host "Ski with the Huskies" on Sunday, February 4 at 1:00 p.m. All volunteers and their families are welcome to attend the event, which will take place at the Michigan Tech Nordic Training Center. Refreshments will be served and Nordic skiers from MTU will lead a variety of activities around the trail system for those interested.

Central Collegiate Ski Association (CCSA) CFIS Points List


Jesse Lang -- 5
Adam Airoldi -- 8
Kevin Heglund -- 10
Chris Harvey -- 14
Aaron Ditty -- 16
Jared Cregg -- 21
Andrew Joda -- 22
Ryan Tervo -- 23
Dave Siegfried -- 24
Steve Pribyl -- 26
Charlie Keller -- 27
Ben Beard -- 38
Sean Beckman -- 45



Kristina Owen -- 6
Elizabeth Quinley -- 13
Jenna Klein -- 17
Andrea Metz -- 27
Kristen Monahan -- 28
Karen Jarvey -- 32
Hanna Stadem -- 38