Skip navigation

Twelve named to World Junior Cross Country Team

Tue, Jan  12, 2010 - By USSA

ANCHORAGE (Jan. 11) – The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association has named 12 skiers to the World Junior Cross Country Team that will compete later this month at the World Junior Nordic Championships in Hinterzarten, Germany. The team was selected based on results at the ConocoPhillips U.S. Cross Country Championships last week in Anchorage.

"We're bringing a strong team to Hinterzarten," said U.S. Ski Team Coach Matt Whitcomb. "We have a mix of athletes that have proven themselves to be top-ten contenders, and athletes that are testing the waters of international racing for the first time.  Several new faces came out of the woodwork in Anchorage this week, and it will be exciting to test out these new talents."

Also named were 11 athletes to compete in the Under 23 (U23) World Championships in Hinterzarten.

Among those named to the teams were new U.S. champions Simeon Hamilton (Aspen, CO), who won the freestyle sprint title in Anchorage and a spot on the U23 Team, and class sprint titlist Tyler Kornfield (Anchorage) who took the classic title and is on the World Junior squad.

Whitcomb will coach the World Junior Team while Pat Casey will be in charge of the U23 squad.

Hinterzarten, Germany

Jan. 25 – WJC Freestyle Sprint
Jan. 26 – U23 Freestyle Sprint
Jan. 27 – WJC Men's 10K Classic/Women's 5K Classic
Jan. 28 – U23 Men's 15K Classic/Women's 10K Classic
Jan. 29 – WJC Pursuit
Jan. 30 – U23 Pursuit
Jan. 31 – WJC Relays


Erik Bjornsen, Mazama, WA (Methow Olympic Development Project)
Tyler Kornfield, Anchorage (Univ. of Alaska-Fairbanks)
David Norris, Fairbanks  (Fairbanks Alaska Ski Team)
Eric Packer, Anchorage (Dartmouth Ski Team)
Scott Patterson, Anchorage (Alaska Winter Stars)
Sam Tarling, Yarmouth, ME (Dartmouth College)
Sophie Caldwell, Peru, VT (Dartmouth Ski Team)
Jessie Diggins, Afton, MN (CXC Team Vertical Limit)
Adele Espy, Freeport, ME (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)
Anne Hart, Stillwater, MN (Minneapolis Ski Club)
Caitlin Patterson, Anchorage (Univ. of Vermont)
Joanne Reid, Palo Alto, CA (Univ. of Colorado)


Tad Elliott, Durango, CO (CXC Team Vertical Limit)
Simeon Hamilton, Aspen, CO (Sun Valley Ski Education Foundation)
Reese Hanneman, Fairbanks, AK (Fairbanks Ski Team)
Noah Hoffman, Aspen, CO (Aspen Valley Ski Club)
Patrick Johnson, Anchorage (Middlebury Ski Team)
Peter Kling, Shelburne, VT (APU Nordic Ski Center)


Sadie Bjornsen,  Mazama, WA (Methow Olympic Development Project)
Rosie Brennan, Park City, UT (Dartmouth Ski Team)
Kate Fitzgerald, Palmer, AK (APU Nordic Ski Center)
Rebecca Rorabaugh, Fairbanks, AK (APU Nordic Ski Center)
Ida Sargent, Craftsbury, VT (Craftsbury Green Racing Project))

World Junior Coach - Matt Whitcomb (U.S. Ski Team)
U23 Coach - Patrick Casey (U.S. Ski Team)
Coach - Abi Holt (U.S. Ski Team)
Coach - Brenna Knowles (Bend Nordic Team)
Coach - Sverre Caldwell (Stratton Mountain School)
Coach - Scott Johnston (Methow Olympic Development Project)
Coach - Janice Sibilia (NENSA)
Head Serviceman - Randy Gibbs (U.S. Ski Team)
Physical Therapist - Karyn Ann Thull (U.S. Ski Team)