Skip navigation

CXC Midwest Team Named for Junior Nationals

Junior Olympics

Tue, Feb  28, 2006 - By Reid Lutter & Scott Wilson

The Midwest cross-country ski team is off to the Michigan Tech trails in Houghton,  Michigan for Junior National Championships next week March 4-11.  The skiers will be battling for individual national titles, team titles and the national high school championship. 

Leading contenders for national titles include Minnesota State Champions Katie Bono, Claire Luby and Ben Fick as well as Wisconsin Champions Kyle Fredrickson and Maria Grossi.  “I think this is the best team we’ve put together in five years” Midwest head coach Reid Lutter commented “I expect the kids to really ski well here in their home region on a courses they know.” Action starts with a classic sprint on March 6th.  Get results at the official web site .

Thanks to our Midwest team sponsors Toko and Podiumwear. 

J2 Girls (15-16 years old)

  • Danielle Berndt Bloomington MN
  • Molly Burger Hayward WI
  • Eileen Burke Wausau WI
  • Addie Byrne Bovey MN
  • Annie Dehmlow Forest Lake MN
  • Kristin Eklin Bovey MN
  • Libby Ellis Minneapolis MN

 J1 Girls (17-18 years old)

  • Maria Grossi Hayward WI
  • Melanie Hoffman Sobieski WI
  • Stephanie Lafrance Duluth MN
  • Claire Luby St Paul MN
  • Lindsey Marshall Shoreview MN
  • Kalie Mix Grand Rapids, MN
  • Katie Salvatore Roseville, MN
  • Anna Roessler Grand Rapids, MN
  • Lindsay Wallis Woodbury MN
  • Rita White Roseville MN

OJ Girls (19-20 years old)

  • Katie Bono Minneapolis MN
  • Ingrid Fjeldheim Duluth MN
  • Megan Holmes Gilbert MN
  • Jenna Klein Ely MN
  • Kristen Monahan Eden Prairie MN
  • Ashley Pletcher Hopkins, MN
  • Audrey Weber Northfield  MN

J2 Boys 15-16 years old)

  • Chris Bowler Wausau WI
  • Joe Dubay Coon Rapids MN
  • Andy Keller Chanhassen MN
  • Roman Morris Marine MN
  • Hans Nygren Prior Lake MN
  • Birken Schimpff Madison WI

J1 Boys Team (17-18 years old)

  • Jens Brabbit Winona MN
  • Jared Cregg Eden Prairie MN
  • Doug Debold Wayzata MN
  • Ben Fick Marine On St. Croix MN
  • Kyle Fredrickson Hayward WI
  • Nicholas Maki Aurora MN
  • Mike Mommsen St Louis Park MN
  • Leif Nordgren Marine On St Croix MN
  • Matthew Pierce Hayward WI
  • Adam Shultz Ely MN
  • Andrew Tilman St. Louis Park MN

OJ Boys Team (19-20 years old)

  • Bill Bowler Wausau WI
  • Chris Harvey Eden Prairie, MN
  • Jason Kask Duluth MN
  • Jesse Lang St. Louis Park, MN
  • Santiago Ocariz Spooner WI
  • Alex Ostrander Hayward, WI
  • Brandan Ostroot Columbia Heights MN
  • Ted Steiner Stillwater MN