Skip navigation

Vasa Newsletter #2

Thu, Dec  23, 2004 - By Jim Dombrowski & Pete LaPlaca

Happy Holidays from the North American Vasa.

We Have Snow!!! The trail has been groomed with the LMC and tracks have been set. The ski conditions are in mid season shape. During the holidays, the entire trail system may not be groomed. Be sure to check the latest trail report; go to the Vasa website and click on Snow Reports. You can also have the latest reports emailed to you by sending an email with your name and snail mail address to .

Just a reminder, the first price increase for the 29th annual North American Vasa will be on January 1st 2005. The entry fee will increase from $50 to $60 for entries postmarked after New Years Day. New this year-first year Vasa entrants receive a $10 discount on the regular entry price. Skiers under the age of 24 receive a $20 discount on the regular entry price when they sign up for the 27K or 50K race.

The North America Vasa, Women’s Ski Tour, and Brick Wheels are pleased to announce a special showing of the new Cross Country Skiing film “Unlimited, Clean Oxygen Fed Sport” an award winning film recognized by the ski industry as, “The most complete and motivational package for Nordic skiing ever produced”. The Northern Michigan Premier will be at the St Francis High School Auditorium on Friday January 14, 2005 at 7:00PM. St Francis is located @ 123 E. Eleventh Street between Union and Cass in Traverse City.  A Nordic Ski Waxing Clinic presented by Brick Wheels will follow the film. The price for Adults is only $7.50 and Students $5.00 with the proceeds to benefit the XC Ski Teams at TC Central, TC West, and St. Francis High Schools. For more information about the film or to view the trailer, click on this link

To view the poster for the Northern Michigan premier click on this link:

Please help us promote this worthwhile fundraiser by printing and placing the poster in high visibility locations.

Happy Holidays,
Jim Dombrowski              Pete LaPlaca
Vasa News                   Vasa President