Skip navigation
www.cross-country-ski.com

Legends Beardsley and Giese to announce West Itasca Opener/JOQ

Fri, Dec  7, 2007 - By CXC Skiing

Marathon running legend, Dick Beardsley has teamed up with XC skiing champion Chad Giese as the co-Announcers of the West Itasca Opener/JOQ XC ski races held on January 12-13, 2008 at Rainbow Resort. (www.rainbowresort.com/joq ). The organizers would like to invite all MN High School teams and the XC skiing community to participate in these exciting races.  The race events are open to all skiers; youth, junior, senior, college, and master categories.

Dick Beardsley ia two-time champion and course record holder, 1981 & 1982-Grandma’s Marathon; Champion and course record holder, 1987-Napa Valley Marathon; 1981 London Marathon champion; Second-place finish (2:08:53)-“The Duel in the Sun” at Boston 1982.

Chad Giese was MN High School State Champion, 6th consecutive Mora Vasaloppet winner, 1st place Subaru Noquemanon.

This event is not just about a race, it is about learning a journey and hearing stories from the legends who have lived through these journeys.  Teens and high School teams are particularly welcome to attend the events, cheering for their teammates, being volunteers, and/or skiing in the citizen categories.  Volunteer forms can be found on the JOQ organizer’s website: www.rainbowresort.com/joq  . All information including XC membership, start lists and results and other regional XC news can be found at www.cxcskiing.org .

Day trip skiers are welcome.  Those needing lodging may contact the following lodging sponsors:

  • Rainbow Resort (host resort: www.rainbowresort.com, toll free 1-888-734-1140)
  • Maplelag Resort (www.maplelag.com, toll free 1-800-654-7711)
  • Hoot Owl Resort (www.hootowlresort.com, toll free 1-800-635-2157)
  • Ice Cracking Resort (www.icecrackinglodge.com, toll free 1-800-841-3132)

The other sponsors include:

  • CXC SKI (www.cxcskiing.org)
  • Pioneer Midwest (www.pioneermidwest.com/whome.htm)
  • Gear West (www.gearwest.com)
  • Finn Sisu (www.finnsisu.com)
  • Marathon and Beyond (http://www.marathonandbeyond.com)
  • Briggs, Ramstad, & Skoyles
  • Midwest Bank (www.midwestbank.net)
  • Midwest Events (www.midwestevents.com)


Amy Xu
Chief of Competition
West Itasca Opener/JOQ
612-991-4912
xu.amy@dorsey.com
www.rainbowresort.com/joq