Skip navigation

Aukland and Jambaeva win the FIS Marathon Cup

Fri, Mar  28, 2008 - By FIS

The FIS Marathon Cup concluded with the Birkebeinerrennet (NOR) on 15th March. In the traditional 54 km race in the classical technique from Rena to Lillehammer, the victories went to Stanislav Rezac (CZE) and already 43-year-old Hilde G. Pedersen (NOR). Rezac delivered an exciting finale with Anders Aukland (NOR) on the finish stretch where he triumphed narrowly in the end. Both Rezac and Pedersen also set new course records.

In the FMC standings, after nine of the originally scheduled ten races, the winners were Tatyana Jambaeva (RUS) and Aukland. Jambaeva collected three victories and three second places in seven races to beat the Swedes Jenny Hansson and Elin Ek in the points ranking by 86 and 110 points, respectively. Aukland recorded two wins and three second places to take the standings by a margin of 59 points over Jerry Ahrlin (SWE) and 82 points over Marco Cattaneo (ITA).

Over 50,000 skiers participated in the nine races making up the FIS Marathon Cup. Along with the anniversary celebrations at the 30th Transjurassienne and the 40th Engadin Ski Marathon, the warm temperatures in the middle of the season caused real trouble and so for example the 38th edition of the Tartu Marathon (EST) had to be cancelled. The last time Tartu Marathon was cancelled was in 2004.

The Transjurassienne, too, was held on an alternative track between Lamoura and Prémanon rather than the traditional course from Lamoura to Mouthe while The König Ludwig Lauf was carried out on a 21 km lap that was raced twice. The 35th edition of Marcialonga was also successfully staged despite the very spring like weather with temperatures up to +15C.