Skip navigation

Patrick Weaver joins USSA board of directors

Wed, May  7, 2008 - By US Ski Team

PARK CITY, Utah (April 29) Six former and current athletes have been elected by their peers to serve on the board of directors of the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association. The six athletes, including one returning board member, will be seated at the upcoming USSA Congress May 15-18.

Patrick Weaver (Burlington, VT), a two-time Olympian, World Championship competitor, and national champion, will represent cross country athletes. Weaver currently skis for the Factory Team and is an assistant ski coach at the University of Vermont.

Former U.S. Snowboarding alpine athlete Lisa Kosglow (Hood River, OR), who raced snowboards at the World Cup level for 13 years, will return as the athlete representative for her sport. Kosglow was a member of two Olympic teams and earned five World Cup podiums in her career.

Joining Kosglow will be Scott Macartney (Crystal Mountain, WA), a current member of the men's alpine A Team in his 10th season. He was also a member of the 2002 and 2006 Olympic teams as well as several World Championship teams. In addition to a strong skiing career, Macartney also graduated from Dartmouth College with a degree in economics.

Former national team moguls skier Curtis Tischler (Tahoe City, CA) will represent freestyle. Tischler had three career World Cup podium finishes including one win, and was a member of the 1997 World Championship moguls team in Nagano.

Two-time Paralympian and 2007 U.S. middle distance champion Greg Mallory (Portland, OR), a member of the U.S. Disabled Cross Country Team since 2003 and currently the team captain, will be the disabled representative.

Rounding out the USSA Athletes' Council will be Tim Tetreault (Steamboat Springs, CO), a member of the U.S. Nordic Combined Ski Team from 1992-99. Tetreault, who competed in the '92, '94 and '98 Winter Olympics, the '93, '95, '97 World Championships, and won three U.S. nordic combined national titles, will chair the Athletes' Council.

The Athletes' Council is comprised of athletes who have competed within the last 10 years and have represented the U.S. Ski Team or U.S. Snowboarding at Olympic, World Championship, or major international competition levels. The Athletes' Council members are elected by athletes of their respective sports and serve to represent the interest of the athletes on the USSA board.