Skip navigation

U of New England honors Biathlon Director Thibodeau

Thu, Sep  25, 2008 - By US Biathlon Association

The Deborah Morton Awards presented annually, since 1961 by the trustees of the University of New England honor women who have achieved high distinction in their careers and public service or shown exceptional leadership in civic, cultural, or social issues.

Thibodeau is the ever-smiling, enthusiastic driving force behind events at the Maine Winter Sports’ 10th Mountain Ski Center in Fort Kent. At every event, she brings together hundreds of volunteers from her small community to create a professionally run event. Her enthusiasm and desire to create high quality events makes the Fort Kent a memorable place for athletes from around the world. Thibodeau directed the wildly successful Biathlon World Cup in 2004, as well as the 2005 Winter Paralympic Championships, as well as several National Biathlon Championships and the 2006 TD Banknorth Festival at Fort Kent, which served as a selection event for the 2006 Olympic Biathlon Team. Her work with these major events resulted in millions of dollars of economic impact for Aroostook County.

In addition to the time she devotes to winter sports, Thibodeau serves on the board of numerous organizations in northern Maine, including the University of Maine Fort Kent Foundation, the 10th Mountain Lodge, and the Greater Fort Kent Area Chamber of Commerce. Thibodeau was previously honored with the University of Maine Fort Kent Distinguished Service Award and the Fort Kent BPW Woman of the Year award.

Additional honorees at today’s ceremonies included author and community leader Martha Tod Dudman; educator and former vice president of Bangor Theological Seminary Esther Nettles Rauch, PhD; and Maine Chief Justice Leigh Ingalls Saufley.

Congratulations to all of these outstanding Maine women and special thanks to Nancy Thibodeau from the US Biathlon Association for her support of our athletes and the sport of biathlon.

The United States Biathlon Association is the National Governing Body for the sport of biathlon in the United States as recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Biathlon Union. The US Biathlon Association supports the US Biathlon Team and development of the sport on all levels within the United States.

TD Banknorth is the title sponsor of the US Biathlon Team. Lapua, adidas®, and Exel Ski Poles are supporting sponsors of the US Biathlon Team.