Skip navigation

Third World Cup weekend in Rybinsk

Fri, Jan  23, 2009 - By FIS

After the races in Otepää this weekend, the Cross-Country family will be moving to Rybinsk in Russia. The city that is located in the Yarolavl region, 320 km in the north-east of Moscow (RUS) is on the Cross-Country World Cup schedule for the third time in a row and is famous for the great number of spectators cheering on the athletes.

In Rybinsk, three competition days will be carried out. On Friday 30th of January, for the first time a Mass start competition in free technique over only  10 km (ladies) and 15 km (men) will be held, followed by Sprint in the free technique on Saturday, 31st January and on Sunday, 1st February a Pursuit race over 7,5 km + 7,5 km (ladies) and 15 km + 15 km (men). So far, the condititions are excellent in Rybinsk, the entire competition courses and additional 15 km course has been prepared, the temperatures are below zero but not colder than -8 C.

The Demino Ski Stadium in Rybinsk invested a lot in the last three years to be a perfect host for FIS World Cup competitions. Besides the stadium they have now built now a brand new three star hotel next to the stadium to accommodate the athletes close-by and in good quality.

More information:

Starting times:

Friday, 30th January:
10 km Mass start free technique ladies   12.00h* (10.00h CET)
15 km Mass start free technique men     13.30h* (11.30h CET)

Saturday, 31st January:
Sprint free technique Qualification    11.30h* (9.30h CET)
Sprint free technique Finales  13.30h* (11.30h CET)

Sunday, 25th January:    
Pursuit 7,5 km + 7,5 km ladies     15.00h* (13.00h CET)
Pursuit 15 km + 15 km men    13.00h* (12.00h CET)
*local time

Top three in December 2007

Mass start 15 km free technique ladies 
1. Astrid Jacobsen (NOR)
2. Natalia Korosteleva (RUS) 
3. Riitta-Liisa Roponen (FIN)

Mass start 30 km free technique men
1. Tor Arne Hetland (NOR)
2. Ville Nousiainen (FIN)
3. Pietro Piller Cottrer (ITA)

Sprint free technique ladies  
1. Kikkan Randall (USA)   
2.Astrid Jacobsen (NOR)  
3. Natalia Korosteleva (RUS) 

Sprint free technique men
1. Anders Gloersen (NOR)
2. Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR)
3. Oeystein Pettersen (NOR)