Skip navigation

First annual Bergkönig Trail Run

Thu, Oct  22, 2009 - By Maria Stuber

The first annual Bergkönig Trail Run went off without a hitch.  The weather was marvelous and the participants were too.  Bergkönig race organizers would like to say a big “thank you” to everyone who came out to participate whether it was to race or just to support the cause. 

This race was unique because of the extreme difficulty of the course.  Race organizers spent a lot of time squeezing as many hills as possible into each mile at Lapham Peak State Park in Delafield, WI. Unfortunately, the estimated distance was a little off and the course was slightly long (5.9 miles instead of the estimated 5.0). Next year we will be sure to have two course options: maybe a 3 mile and a 6 mile.

Bergkonig Trail Run

It was a relatively small race, but good sized for the first year with 64 people registered.  Scott Mueller and Renee Schaefer were the overall winners.  Race results and photos are available at the event website:

All proceeds from the Bergkönig Trail Run will go towards the Adopt an Athlete Program, started by the Central Cross Country Ski Association (a 501(c)3 not for profit corporation) to support opportunities for talented athletes to pursue athletic excellence in the Winter Olympic Games.  This inaugural year of Bergkönig raised funds to help support Maria Stuber, Waukesha Native, CXC Team Vertical Limit member and 2009 U.S. National Championships Silver medalist as she trains and races full-time for the 2010 ski season.

If you could not make it to the event you can still contribute to the Adopt an Athlete program for Maria by visiting  Donations of $30 or more will receive a 2009/2010 Supporter Pin.

Maria Stuber (CXC Elite)

Marie Stuber

Maria would like to say an additional “thank you” to everyone who helped make this race possible, including: Thomas Stuber (WIN Racing), Mike and Jane Mandli, Sean Becker (10 Feet Back, LLC), Josh North (WIN Racing), Mike Eckert (WIN Racing), Yuriy Gusev (CXC Skiing), Bryan Cook (CXC Skiing), Jenny Melville, Scott Olsen, and Ben Lund (Toko).  These individuals devoted their whole day to the Bergkönig Trail Run and this event would not have been possible without their effort and organization on race day.