Skip navigation

CXC announces inaugural TD Bank J2 Championships Team

Fri, Mar  9, 2012 - By CXC Skiing

MADISON, WI (Mar. 8) - Central Cross Country Ski Association is pleased to announce inaugural TD Bank J2 Championships Team.

Fourteen young juniors who qualified from the Central Region (Midwest and Great Lakes Divisions) will compete amongst their peers in 4 competitions in Rumford, Maine on March 9-11, 2012. Competitions will include 5km freestyle on Friday, 5km classic and 1km prolog skate on Saturday and mixed relay on Sunday.

Name Club/Team Coach Hometown State
Laura Handke SISU Skiers Michael Nightingale White Bear Lake MN
Daniel DeLestry Chippewa Valley Nordics Ted Theyerl Eau Claire WI
Ryan Heida Coon Rapids High School Denny Green Coon Rapids MN
Mark Wenzel Newman/Marawood Nordic Ski Team Perry Dau Edgar WI
Allison Ternes SISU Skiers sBen Popp White Bear Lake MN
Nicole Schneider Go Training Piotr Bednarski Wayzata MN
Ian Torchia Rochester Nordic Ski Team Michael O'Connor Rochester MN
Madeline McKeefry SISU Skiers Kevin Brochmann Andover MN
Hannah Rudd Go Training Piotr Bednarski Plymouth MN
Isaac Stone Copper Country Nordic Mike Young Houghton MI
Isabel Sharp Copper Country Nordic Mike Young Houghton MI
Matthew Lavanger Go Training Piotr Bednarski Hopkins MN
Erin Bolger Lakeland Nordic Ski Team Ken Schoville Minocqua WI
Mike Wiitala Superiorland Ski Club Joey Graci Marquette MI

The TD Bank J2 National Championships has a long history of being one of the most exciting winter sporting events for youths anywhere. What began modestly in 1992 has grown into one of the highlights of the season for junior athletes. The four New England states and New York each qualify their fastest twenty 14-15 year old boys and girls. Four races ensue over 2 1/2 days. Seeded wave starts ensure match racing at its finest. This event will typically see invited entries from Intermountain Division (Idaho and Utah) and Canada who are scored head-to-head with New England athletes, adding to the weekend of excitement for all participants.

Follow team results at