Skip navigation

Beth Caldwell Named to 2004 US Masters Team

Tue, Jan  27, 2004

Lower peninsula skier Beth Caldwell made the 2004 US Masters Team. Beth skis for the Cross Country Ski Headquarters on the Michigan Cup race circuit, and was a member of the National Masters Championship Team.

The U.S. Masters Team is an honorary designation given to the top overall skier in each age category at the conclusion of each Subaru National Masters Championship. Points are awarded per place to the top 10 skiers in each category with skiers named to the team required to complete all three individual races. Longtime sponsor VOmax sportswear provided the 2004 U.S. Masters Team with a distinctive uniform piece.

M1: Pete Moran
M2: Michael Myers
M3: Barry Makarewicz
M4: Torbjorn Karlsen
M5: Chris Ransom
M6: Per Johnsen
M7: Duane Palomaki
M8: Dan Karig
M9: Donald Hurst

M3: Stacey Meanwell
M4: Jeanne Wadsworth
M5: Carolyn Tiernan
M6: Elizabeth Schluter
M7: Linda Cook
M8: Beth Caldwell
M9: Charlotte Hall

Subaru NM2003 Overall Team Competition

Subaru NM2004 overall team competition featured a number of teams in two of the four possible categories. Due to tough weather conditions, several teams were not able to finish the criteria of at least five finishers in each individual race and one relay finishing team. AXCS looks forward to breaking the record of eighteen participating teams at the NM2005 in Minnesota's Twin Cities next year. The American Cross Country Skiers plans to have team competition become an integral part of not only all future Subaru National Masters events but citizen ski events across the country in coming years.

National Champions: Open Team
1st: TorbjornSport (Torbjorn Karlsen, Dick Hunt, Dan Karig, Dan Packman, Dave Bong, Dave Zink, Chris Ransom)...32 points (Champion on first tie-breaker, total of sixth skier)
2nd: Outback Bandits...32 points
3rd: Team (Erik Brooks, Beth Caldwell, Jack Caldwell, Ken Dawson, Jamie Green, Bill Kaltz, Mike Muha) ...105 points

National Champions: Club Team
Grand Rapids Nordic Ski Team (David Maclean, Greg Worsnop, Tom Brian, Chris Weingartz, Steve Smigiel, Ernie Brumbaugh, Carole Muller-Brumbaugh)...49 points