Skip navigation

Skiers Geared up for Capital Square Sprints, 100M World Record Attempt

Fri, Jan  12, 2007 - By Brian Gregg

MADISON, Wisc - Many of North America’s elite cross country skiers are taking to the streets to race around Wisconsin’s Capitol this weekend in the 2007 Capitol Square Sprints.

The snow is piled high, 100,000 cubic feet to be more precise, ready to turn the streets white.   With racers in peak form coming off of last week’s US National Championships in Houghton, MI it will be one exciting weekend.  In addition to bragging rights, racers will be chasing for a share of the $130,000 Super Tour prize money and points. 

Perhaps the strongest entrant in the field is Super Tour Sprint Leader Laura Valaas of CXC who has taken 6 of the 7 Super Tour sprint race titles this year, finishing 2nd only to the Kikkan Randal who has a World Cup 12th already this year.  Caitlin Compton Super Tour Overall Leader also of CXC will be in the mix.  Compton and Valaas come to Madison as the Team Sprint National Champions.

2006 Capitol Square Sprints champion Karin Camenisch of Rossignol is back ready to defend her title.  Kate Whitcomb of FsX/Sun Valley who finished second last year will be looking to climb to the top step of the podium.  Other women to watch will be Kate Underwood (Subaru Factory/Sun Valley) and Nicole Deyong (FsX/SunValley)

100 M US Record holder Kevin Hochtl, of Team Rossignol will be looking towards bettering his record and maybe cracking the World Record.  Other members of the talented Rossignol sprint team include Colin Mahood (R/xcOregon), Mark Iverson(R/Steamboat), and Anders Haugen (R/APU).

The deep men’s field includes Lars Flora (Subaru Factory/APU), Team Sprint National Champion and Eric Strabel (APU), 2nd at 2006 Nationals Sprint.  Bryan Cook (CXC) and Garrot Kuzzy (CXC) are coming off excellent races throughout the Fall SuperTours and at US Nationals and will be solid challengers.  Adam Swank (FsX), Ben Cline (NMU), winner of the Grandview XC Challenge Sprint, Joseph Graci (NMU), and Tim Woodbury (xcOregon) will also compete.

The events kick off on Friday at 8:00pm with the 100M World Record attempt, a Freestyle Team Sprint Saturday evening, and an individual Classic Sprint on Sunday.  For more information and a detailed event schedule check out