Skip navigation

Become a Global Worldloppet Skier

Tue, Aug  21, 2007 - By IAWLS

The survey conducted by the International Association of Worldloppet Skiers (IAWLS) in the Spring 2005 gave an overwhelming response in favor of the adoption of a new recognition for those who have skied all World Loppet races.

After discussion with a number of skiers the name Global Worldloppet Skier (GWLS) came out as the preferred name. The word global conveys the idea of what it involves, the whole world. It decided not to use the word "Master" in order to avoid any confusion with the World Loppet Masters.

Number of races

Finishing all 14 World Loppet races existing at the moment of the creation of the GWLS is required to receive GWLS recognition. If new races are introduced in the future, they will be added to the required races. Thus a skier who had not finished all 14 races before the entry of a new race must ski also the new race before becoming a GWLS.

Which kind of recognition?

We do not give a new medal or pin but “only” a diploma, and are listed on the Worldloppet web site. This is not a competition, and we will only list the GWLSs in alphabetical order. After each name, the year in which the GWLS was obtained will show how many World Loppet races were involved. If a new race is introduced in 2009, the year 2009 after a name means that the GWLS included 15 races.

The new recognition should will begin in year 2000 (i.e., includes the race in Jizerska ).

No Competition with the existing World Loppet Master system

The World Loppet Master is the cornerstone of World Loppet and it must remain so. The GWLS is a new feature offered for skiers.

When a skier has obtained his/her first Master, the next goal can be to ski the 4 races not included in the Master, and become a GWLS.

For most skiers, performing 10 World Loppet races takes a long time. With the introduction of the GWLS, the skier has intermediate goals which make it easier to envisage the obtainment of a new Master. Thus, the GWLS concept is likely to invigorate the Master system.

Practical arrangements

When a skier has obtained 10 stamps in a passport, the passport is invalidated. For the GWLS it is not at all necessary to revalidate and amalgamate passports. Please simply send an announcement to the General Secretariat Office, and communicate the dates of 4 extra races with times and placements.

The 14 Worldloppet Races 


  • Jizerská padesátka (CZE),
  • Dolomitenlauf (AUT),
  • Marcialonga (ITA),
  • König Ludwig Lauf (GER),
  • Tartu Maraton (EST),
  • La Transjurassienne (FRA),
  • Finlandia-hiihto (FIN),
  • Vasaloppet (SWE),
  • Engadin Skimarathon (SUI),
  • Birkebeinerrennet (NOR)


  • American Birkebeiner (USA),
  • Keskinada Loppet (CAN)


  • Sapporo International Ski Marathon (JPN)


  • Kangaroo Hoppet