Skip navigation

FIS Marathon Cup: Hansson and Cattaneo are the champions

Wed, Apr  1, 2009 - By FIS

The long distance competition series FIS Marathon Cup (FMC) concluded on 21st March with the traditional Birkebeinerrennet in Norway. After this last race, Jenny Hansson (SWE, 518 points) and Marco Cattaneo (ITA, 535 points) were crowned the new king and queen of long distance skiing. Hansson won  the Jizerská Padesátka (CZE) and the König Ludwig Lauf (GER) along with three 2nd place finishes (La Sgambeda, Marcialong and Vasaloppet). The runner up is Hilde G. Pedersen (NOR) with the same point score as Sandra Hansson (SWE), winner of the 2009 Vasaloppet) as according to the FIS Marathon Cup rules Pedersen is second as the winner of the last competition.

In the men's ranking, Marco Cattaneo (ITA) collected 535 points and won the men's ranking. Swede Jerry Ahrlin, the 2009 Marcialonga champion, finished 2nd, just 31 points behind Cattaneo. Stanislav Rezac (349 points, CZE) concluded the FIS Marathon Cup in 3rd position The overall competition distance in all ten FMC popular races amounts to more than 550 km though participation in all races is not required or necessary to be classified in the FIS Marathon Cup standings.
FIS Marathon Cup

Standings women:
1 Jenny Hansson (SWE) 518pts
2 Hilde G. Pedersen (NOR) 360pts
3 Sandra Hansson (SWE) 360pts

Standings men:
Marco Cattaneo (ITA) 535pts
Jerry Ahrlin (SWE) 504pts
Stanislav Rezac (CZE) 349pts

<!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:"Cambria Math"; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:1; mso-generic-font-family:roman; mso-font-format:other; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:0 0 0 0 0 0;} @font-face {font-family:Calibri; panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:swiss; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:-1610611985 1073750139 0 0 159 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"; mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri; mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin;} span.txt131 {mso-style-name:txt131; mso-style-unhide:no; mso-ansi-font-size:10.0pt; mso-bidi-font-size:10.0pt;} .MsoChpDefault {mso-style-type:export-only; mso-default-props:yes; font-size:10.0pt; mso-ansi-font-size:10.0pt; mso-bidi-font-size:10.0pt;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:1.0in 1.0in 1.0in 1.0in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->